Information for attendees

Overview & social activities

The conference will begin with a welcome reception at 6:00pm on Sunday 19 February at the atrium courtyard of the Henry Jones Art Hotel (25 Hunter Street, Hobart), where a registration desk will be open. A registration desk will also be available from 8.30am on Monday 20 February, with formal proceedings commencing at 9.00am in the Jones & Co. room on the first floor of the hotel. The poster session will be held at 5.30pm, in the Atrium of the Henry Jones Art Hotel.

The conference dinner will be on Wednesday 22 February at the Frogmore Creek Winery, with buses departing from the Henry Jones Hotel at 6.00pm.


The draft program is now available (PDF, 1.7MB). Please regularly check back for any changes or updates to the program.

Dietary requirements

If you have any dietary requirements (vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, allergies etc.) that were not noted when you registered then it is essential that you let the conference organisers know immediately, by e-mailing It will not be possible to cater for dietary requirements without at least two weeks prior notice.

Conference proceedings

The conference proceedings will be published in electronic form as a regular volume of the journal European Physical Journal Web of Conferences. All contributions (talks and posters) will be peer-reviewed prior to being accepted for publication. The deadline for submission of the contributions to the proceedings is Friday 28 April 2017.

Early career researcher prizes

To honour the lives and careers of Paulo Gomes and Valery Zagrebaev, prizes will be given to the best presentations given by students and early career researchers. There will also be a prize awarded for the best poster presentation. If you are an early career researcher – having gained your PhD in 2014 or later, or a PhD student – and did not indicate this on your registration form, could you please e-mail so that you can be identified as a candidate to the judging panel.

Updated:  6 February 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Director RSPE/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster